Hair: Self-Assessment

[Will be updated from time to time]

Things I have found out:

  • Knowing hair porosity is really important! This will guide you on the products and methods to use or to watch out for.
  • I have a low porous, ‘protein sensitive‘ hair. My hair becomes stiff with too much protein. These makes my hair stiff: Coconut, Aloe vera, Honey, Avocado Oil
  • Light oils ONLY  for low porosity hair!
  • NO heavy oils and butters! This will not penetrate the hair! It will just cause product build up!
  • Clarify your hair! Since low porosity tends to not absorb everything that you put on it. Plus, higher moisturising will happen because there are no ‘barriers’
  • Healthy Clean Scalp! = Better hair growth

 

The oils I’ve tried so far are:

  1. Vitamin e oil Used in Eyelashes, mixed with castor oil.

Castor oil I used may no be cold pressed, so it castor oil alone did not make any difference on my lashes. It serves as a ‘carrier oil’, because when I use vitamin e oil alone, it sting too much. It makes my eyes red.

I use this mix before going to sleep, because it slips off (of course), and it does make the surrounding of my eyes oily.

2. Olive Oil Used in my hair, not mixed with any other oils.

I don’t think it penetrates? But it makes my hair softer, and just a little shinier. I still get hair tangles after usage.

 

Observations:

  1. Baggy method – this will produce natural heat. This will really help my low porosity hair to absorb the moisturizing routine that I just did.
  2. Silk or Satin pillowcase – Wrong pillowcase may just reverse all my efforts. To reduce friction ~ ‘split ends’

 

Oils I’m planning to buy:

  • Almond Oil
  • Vitamin E Oil
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Jojoba Oil

 

The ‘NO!’ Products:

  • Coconut Oil
  • Aloe vera
  • Honey
  • Avocado Oil
Leave a Reply

