Budget: Narrowing down my oil choice

Since my budget just comes from my allowance, and it’s not that big, it’s just enough (which is okay for me, honestly). I need to narrow down the oils that I’ll buy. I’ll probably try the other oils once I’ve saved up enough again.

I’m planning to buy oils to speed up the growth of my hair (my hair grows 1 inch a month), better scalp condition, and to make my hair stronger (bec. I have dry hair, without extra effort to moisturize my hair, it is prone to breakage = split ends = cut hair = shorter lengths)

My target for my hair is to have a good scalp condition, to grow healthy hair, and to make my hair stronger or to  protect my hair so it will not break off easily.

*Essential Oil Use: 4-5 drops*

 

The following information are directly copied from http://www.hairbuddha.net/

a. Lavender Oil

  • Helps balance natural scalp oils, which makes it valuable for all hair types
  • Anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, and analgesic properties, lavender oil is a good treatment for dry, flaky scalp.
  • Soothes and nourishes the scalp, providing relief from inflammatory scalp conditions.
  • Regular massage with lavender oil is said to reduce hair loss and make the hair soft and shiny.

b. Rosemary Oil

  • One of the premier hair growth enhancing essential oils.
  • Packed with antioxidants which help scavenge free radicals – that are responsible for greying as well as hair thinning.
  • Stimulates blood flow to the scalp
  • Promotes strong and healthy hair growth.
  • Effective for treating dandruff, itchiness, scalp irritation and oily skin.

Summary:

a. Lavender Oil

  • balance natural scalp oils
  • Anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, and analgesic properties (for dry, flaky scalp)
  • Soothes and nourishes the scalp
  • Reduce hair loss
  • Makes hair soft and shiny

b. Rosemary Oil

  • One of the premier hair growth enhancing essential oils
  • Antioxidants (for free radicals – can cause greying, hair thinning)
  • Stimulates blood flow
  • Strong and healthy hair growth
  • Treating dandruff, itchiness, scalp irritation and oily skin.

 

I think I’ll buy Rosemary Oil first, 2. Lavender, then 3. Peppermint, 4. Tea tree

 

Oils to buy for my first batch:

  1. Natural Vitamin e oil (faster hair growth)
  2. Rosemary Oil (faster hair growth+scent)
  3. Almond Oil

 

The following information are directly copied from http://blackhair101.com/

Peppermint Oil:

  • helps to stimulate blood flow to the root of the hair. This is very important for hair as it helps the hair to receive proper nourishment. This in turn will lead to hair growth. That tingly feeling when peppermint oil is felt on the scalp is actually the stimulation of  blood flow to hair

 

http://www.takingcharge.csh.umn.edu/

How do I apply essential oils topically?

Essential oils can be applied to the skin using a variety of techniques. It is important to note that most essential oils can not be applied directly to the skin without being diluted.

How do I prepare a solution?

As a rule of thumb, essential oils should be diluted in a carrier substance (vegetable or nut oil, or water) at no greater concentration than 3-5%.

That means if you have one teaspoon (5cc) of carrier, you would add 3 drops of pure essential oil. This would make a 3% solution that could be used on a portion of the body.

For massage or for application over large areas of the body, a 1% solution (meaning, one drop of essential oil in one teaspoon of carrier) is generally a safe concentration. For infants, using a 0.25% solution is recommended (.5% for toddlers).

Note: If you use water as a carrier, be sure to shake or mix your solution well before application.

 

For more: http://theindianspot.com/

Leave a Reply

